The Chicago Statements on Biblical Inerrancy and Hermeneutics

Chicago Statement on Biblical Inerrancy (PDF)
Chicago Statement on Biblical Hermeneutics (PDF)

I was watching the question and answer session from this year’s Shepherds’ Conference (a fun and profitable way to spend free time, by the way) when I heard Al Mohler say:

I became president of Southern Seminary when I was 33. I’m now 55. You can do the math. The issues are back, [Ligon Duncan, chancellor of Reformed Theological Seminary]. Now, they’re not back on my campus, and I’m so thankful for that. It’s nailed down tight. And that’s one of the great things that does come as one of the effects of this kind of civil war in a denomination: the people who are left know what was bought at so high a price. (36:15-36:40)

As I was listening to him say that, I realized that despite growing up in the Southern Baptist Convention–a fact for which I have repeatedly mentioned my gratefulness, because I’ve lived in the Convention after the fight over inerrancy was settled, so I have never questioned the veracity of Scripture–I don’t know exactly “what was bought at so high a price.” So I googled the Chicago Statement on Biblical Inerrancy, the document of contention for biblical inerrancy mentioned in the Q&A, at which point I found out there was also a Chicago Statement on Biblical Hermeneutics, and one on Biblical Application. If you haven’t read it, you can download those documents from the links above.

2015_03 - Shepherds' Conference
(We had quotes from the Chicago Statement on Biblical Inerrancy hanging on banners at church during the Shepherds’ Conference Inerrancy Summit, which is what originally piqued my interest in the document.)

NOTE: I sourced the Chicago Statement material from the Dallas Theological Seminary page on the International Council for Biblical Inerrancy (which links to the full texts for both Inerrancy and Hermeneutics, as well as Application), and from a page on Danny Akin’s website (the president of Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary). I’ve re-typeset it for readability and copyability, as the DTS records are scans of the documents, and thus difficult both to read and copy-and-paste.

Questions? Comments? Post them here!

