Short Thought: Humility in Prayer

I started a series a few weeks ago called “Short Thought.” Here’s one on humility in prayer:

Prayer displays humility. One does not pray if he does not understand that he is unable, nor does he pray if he does not understand that God is sovereignly able. You do not ask, “Give us this day our daily bread” unless you understand that you cannot make it happen, and that God is the only one who can.

For that reason, I will not cease to, nor be ashamed of, making many requests in my prayers. I pray because I can’t make those requests happen, and I know God can. Requests aren’t the only things I pray about–Paul commands us to pray “with thanksgiving” in Colossians 4:2; moreover, the model of prayer in Matthew 6 shows that our requests should always be subservient to the will of God. But I won’t stop making requests, because I know that I am utterly unable to bring them to fulfillment. It brings God glory when we bring our requests to Him out of the knowledge that He is the only one powerful enough to answer them.

Questions? Comments? Post them here!

