Praise God from Whom All Blessings Flow

“Praise God from Whom All Blessings Flow”

I have the opportunity this Thanksgiving to write for the Grace on Campus blog about thanking God for God Himself, and not just for His gifts. I’ll admit that it’s extremely easy for me to only thank God for what He’s given me and done for me–even with salvation, I find it all too common to thank God for election and adoption and justification and reconciliation because of what it does for me. Every gift I am given is a reflection of God’s character, given out of an extravagant display of His attributes, and too often I content myself with thanking Him for the visible outpouring of gifts. So today, on Thanksgiving, I make it a point to thank God for being God, for being a God who is loving and gracious. I make it a point to praise Him the way He intends to be praised by displaying His character through the gifts He gives me. Head over to the Grace on Campus blog to read the post!

One response to “Praise God from Whom All Blessings Flow

  1. jeff from costa mesa, california

    Well said Elliot… King David echoes your comments in I Chronicles 29:10-13. My take is that true thanksgiving is accomplished when we worship The Almighty… recognizing, acknowledging, and verbalizing who He is. Then we can be truly thankful.

Questions? Comments? Post them here!

