Reblog: “John Piper Interviews Rick Warren on Doctrine”

“John Piper Interviews Rick Warren on Doctrine”
an interview by Desiring God

After watching the craze that was “The Purpose Driven Life,” it’s been easy for me to dismiss Pastor Rick Warren of Saddleback as someone who doesn’t have a good understanding of important doctrines, or as someone who panders to popular culture. After watching this video, I realize that both of those opinions are false and disingenuous. Watching this interview was fascinating for me to see how strong Pastor Warren’s understanding of the sovereignty of God actually is. I also learned more about Saddleback–they require their lay leadership to take a 72-week systematic theology course!–that diminishes my former disdain for the so-called “megachurch.” In this, I am reminded of Proverbs 18:17: “The one who states his case first seems right, / until the other comes and examines him.” I can’t say that I always agree with his decisions, or the emphases he has in his ministry, but I can see now how much love he has for God and for his congregation and people around the world. I can honestly say that I am thankful to joined to Pastor Warren by our faith in Christ.


Link: http://vimeo.com/50643491

Questions? Comments? Post them here!

