Reblog: “Beatbox Brilliance: Tom Thum at TEDxSydney”

“Beatbox Brilliance: Tom Thum at TEDxSydney”
a session from TEDxSydney

Upon finding out how much of my life I’ve spent in music, people occasionally ask me why I am not in an a cappella group here at UCLA. I thought about it a bit before I came, but once I discovered the particular style that collegiate a cappella entails, I quickly lost interest. I’m not a particular fan of the way beatboxing is used in collegiate a cappella. It just doesn’t have the frequency variance of a drum set, and so it all sounds rather flat to me. The cymbal sounds aren’t high-pitched, and the drum sounds lack bass. I’m just not a fan. That isn’t to say that beatboxers aren’t talented, though. Tom Thum is massively talented. What I love best about his performance is that he doesn’t just do “traditional” beatboxing, he does vinyl records, didgeridoos, and–most impressively–whole bands. He’s figured out how to make sounds and effects with his voice that are… well, you’ll have to watch it. 11 minutes may seem a bit long, but it goes by quickly.


Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNZBSZD16cY

Questions? Comments? Post them here!

