Media Review: “Come Weary Saints” by Sovereign Grace Music

Title: “Come Weary Saints”
Musical Group: Sovereign Grace Music
Media Type: Audio CD
Release Date: April 2008
Tagline: “Songs that remind us of our hope in Christ even in the midst of trials”
Rating: 5/5
Purchase: CD from Sovereign Grace Store, MP3 album from Amazon.com

When I did my review of Sovereign Grace Music’s album “Psalms,” I said that it was a fantastic general purpose worship album. I also said that what it doesn’t do, I can find in other SGM albums. I was referring specifically to “Come Weary Saints.” As the tagline says, this album was written with suffering and struggling believers in mind. I’ve listened to this album in the midst of difficult times, and it is an excellent resource for making sure that I do not get caught up in my situation, because it reminds me about the omnipotence of God, the sovereignty of God, and His good design for sin and suffering. Here is a relevant quote from Dr. Martyn Lloyd-Jones:

Have you realized that most of your unhappiness in life is due to the fact that you are listening to yourself instead of talking to yourself? Take those thoughts that come to you the moment you wake up in the morning. You have not originated them, but they start talking to you, they bring back the problems of yesterday, etc. . . . Your self is talking to you. Now [the psalmist’s] treatment was this; instead of allowing this self to talk to him, he starts talking to himself. “Why art thou cast down, O my soul?” he asks. (John Piper, Future Grace 304)

Listening to oneself allows Satan a foothold. Our fallen nature asserts itself if we are not careful, complaining about the suffering we undergo for the sake of our faith and the lack of perceivable pleasure that comes from depriving ourselves of sin. This album is an excellent resource for countering that, by cutting through the fog of sinful complaints with the sword of truth. Take some of the lyrics from one of my favorite songs on the album, “As Long As You Are Glorified”:

You are good when I’m poor and needy
You are true when I’m parched and dry
You still reign in the deepest valley
You’re still God in the darkest night

Oh let Your will be done in me
In Your love I will abide
Oh I long for nothing else as long
As You are glorified

Or this, from “Every Day”:

Thank you for the trials
For the fire, for the pain
Thank You for the strength
Knowing You have ordained
Every day

These lyrics were incredibly helpful to me in my times of struggle, both after times of sin and, most recently, the suffering I underwent because of my decision to obey my parents and not pursue a music education major. In the latter case, I spent several days listening to this very album, being reminded of why I gave up that dream and why I was right to do so. This album reminds me that my theology in times that are easy is also the same in times of difficulty and struggle. The God that I love and trust when it is easy for me to do so is still loving and trustworthy when I have to suffer for Him. My desire to glorify Him should not diminish simply because it is harder to do so.

In fact, as the album points out, the cross provides immeasurably more benefit than it does suffering. The songs “Through the Precious Blood,” “I Have a Shelter in the Storm,” and “It Is Not Death to Die” rightly point out that because of the cross we look forward to the reward of heaven. We are able to endure temporary suffering because, through salvation, we will one day rejoice eternally in the presence of our God. And is that not worth many lifetimes of struggle and suffering? To one day behold the glory of our Maker in all His majesty and splendor? Our sufferings are temporary, our rewards overwhelming and eternal.

This album has served an incredibly important role in keeping my eyes fixed on God’s glory and His love. It is easy to become dejected and sidelined by struggles with sin or suffering for His namesake, but this album has been so great in helping reverse that desire. Thank you, Sovereign Grace Music, for taking the time to produce such an album as this. The thoughtfulness of your intentions and biblicalness of your message comes through in this album. Thank you for addressing these struggles, for helping us remember the theology we have always cherished, and for showing us that the same beliefs are all the more dear in difficult times. Indeed, I sing with all the brethren when I say in hard times, “Let Your will be done in me. I long for nothing else as long as You are glorified.”

Questions? Comments? Post them here!

