Update on Moral Status of a Human Embryo Paper

A couple of weeks ago I submitted a paper on the moral status of a human embryo, defending the biblical view that life begins at conception. Well, the verdict is in; I have gotten my grade back: 95% on the essay. My TA wrote the following comment:

I like how our centered your paper on Christian beliefs as opposed to the biology of the human embryo (which many other students did). It was very unique in that sense. It would have been interesting to see some political integration in your paper, especially a political clash with religion (or other religions for that matter). Overall excellent job.

With His help, I accomplished my goal for this paper. The goal was to defend the truth first, and hope that the grade would follow; if persecution in the form of a low grade resulted, so be it. If you recall, when I posted this paper to the blog, I admitted that I did not write this essay as well as I should have. I worried not only that the style was not up to par, but also that “I did not do a good job at my handling of the Word.” In this instance, God has been kind enough to use my feeble attempt to uphold the authority of His Word to bring light to my TA, and that she was favorable in her response and grading of the essay. “I like how our [sic] centered your paper on Christian beliefs as opposed to the biology of the human embryo”: this was the goal, which has been accomplished. May He be glorified by the proclamation of His word and His gospel through this essay!

(You can download the essay as a PDF or read it online via Google Docs.)

Questions? Comments? Post them here!

